November 19, 2012

IOI Concludes World Conference with New Governance Structures

The International Ombudsman Institute convened a successful World Conference in Wellington, New Zealand last week. In addition to conference programs attended by 280 Ombuds and others, the IOI also adopted new by-laws, elected a Board of Directors, and appointed an Executive Committee.

The current IOI Directors are:
  • John R. Walters, National Ombudsman, Namibia (Africa Regional President)
  • Déborah Traore, Médiateur du Faso, Burkina Faso
  • Caroline Sokoni, Commission for Investigations, Zambia
  • Vacant
Australasia and Pacific
  • Chris Field, Ombudsman Western Australia (Australia Regional President)
  • Alan Lai, Ombudsman Hong Kong
  • Beverley Wakem, Chief Ombudsman New Zealand
Caribbean and Latin America
  • Lynette Stephenson, Ombudsman Trinidad and Tobago (Caribbean and Latin America Regional President)
  • Nilda Arduin, Ombudsman, Saint Maarten
  • Alex Brenninkmeijer, National Ombudsman, The Netherlands (Europe Regional President)
  • Elisabet Fura, Parliamentary Ombudsmen, Sweden
  • Irena Lipowicz, Human Rights Defender, Poland
  • Rafael Ribó, Síndic de Greuges de Catalunya, Spain / Catalunya
  • Peter Tydall, Public Services Ombudsman for Wales, UK / Wales
North America
  • Diane Welborn, Ombudsman, Ohio, USA
  • Peter Hourihan, Alberta Ombudsman, Canada
  • Howard Sapers, Correctional Investigator of Canada
The Executive Committee is comprised of:

  • IOI President: Dame Beverley Wakem (New Zealand) 
  • IOI 1st Vice-President: Mr John R. Walters (Namibia) 
  • IOI 2nd Vice-President: Ms Diane Welborn (USA / Ohio) 
  • IOI Treasurer: Alan N. Lai (China / Hong Kong) 
(IOI News; Voxy.)

Related posts: International Ombudsman Institute Publishes 2010-11 Annual Report; International Ombudsman Institute Opens Registration for 2012 Conference; International Ombudsman Institute President Honored by New Zealand.

No comments:

Post a Comment