February 28, 2019

It's Time to Nominate the 2019 Distinguished Emeriti

The International Ombudsman Association is soliciting nominations for the Distinguished Emeritus Award. Each year the IOA Nominations and Governance Committee solicits nominations to recognize outstanding and dedicated service to the organization and Ombuds profession. 

Presented at the IOA Annual Conference, recipients receive complimentary, non-transferable membership status along with a complimentary registration to the conference for the year that they receive the honor. Nominators should complete and submit the nomination form along with three letters of support (one of which can be from the nominator). Nominees must have retired by December 31, 2018 and have a significant record of service. Additional criteria are listed on the nomination form. Nominations are due today. (IOA Volunteer Recognition.)

Past recipients of this award have included:

  • Vicky Brown, University of Central Florida 
  • John Carter, The Citadel 
  • Ingrid Clarke, Southern Illinois University 
  • Claudia D'Albini, University of Arizona 
  • Wendy Friede, American Express
  • Howard Gadlin, National Institutes of Health 
  • Tim Griffin, Northern Illinois University 
  • Helen Hasenfeld, California Institute of Technology 
  • Wilbur Hicks, International Monetary Fund 
  • Wendell Jones, Sandia National Laboratories 
  • Alan Lincoln, University of Massachusetts Lowell 
  • James Lee, United Nations 
  • David Miller, World Health Organization
  • Carolyn Noorbakhsh, National Renewable Energy Laboratory 
  • Don Perigo, University of Michigan 
  • Toni Robinson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Mary Rowe, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
  • Janis Schonauer, Alliance-Bernstein 
  • Ellen Schreiber, University of Idaho
  • Tom Sebok, CO-OP, University of Colorado Boulder 
  • Robert Shelton, University of Kansas 
  • Albin Swenson, CO-OP, Chevron Corporation 
  • Marsha Wagner, Columbia University 
  • Margo Wesley, University of California, Berkeley 
  • Ella Wheaton, University of California, Berkeley 
  • Linda Wilcox, Harvard Medical School 
  • Randy Williams, Redmond, Williams & Associates, LLC 
  • Gary Yamashita, Chevron Corporation
Related posts: Next Episode of IOA Radio to Feature Distinguished Emeritus Ombuds; IOA Honors Two Distinguished Retirees (2014)IOA Honors Two Distinguished Emeriti (2017)IOA Honors 2017 Distinguished Emeriti. 

1 comment:

  1. My list of the Ombuds who retired in 2018 includes: Wilfred F. Gunsteren (ETH Zurich);
    Susan Johnson (University of Iowa); Maryvonne Landolt (ETH Zurich); Nikolai Pankratiev (Mars Inc.); David Rasch (Stanford University) [although he later to a part-time contract position at UC Santa Barbara]; and Tom Ward (Clemson University). Of course, Ombuds who retired before 2018 are also eligible.